The 50 Best Nigerians to Follow on Twitter

Want to know the 50 best Nigerians to follow on Twitter? We’re here to help! We are recognizing Naija tweeps whose twitter feeds fly as fast as a speeding bullet. These individuals stand out with a flair for creativity, jokes, political, business and technology issues, travel, celebrity gossips, fashion and sports, entertainment and sport news. These ‘tweethearts’ are worth your follow and we hope that they will inspire you to tweet, retweet and make a difference in Nigeria Twittersphere.

@DONJAZZY @elrufai @UtomiPat @JuliusAgwu1 @ALIBABAGCFR @AYCOMEDIAN @omojuwa @Obiasika @Nedunaija @OloriSupergal @Gidi_Traffic @Fly_Naija @basket_mouth @PeterPsquare @BankyW @toyosirise @toluogunlesi @eggheader @Realseunkuti @TiwaSavage @wandecoal @lindaikeji @kunleafolayan @feladurotoye @ikhide @tejucole @Realomosexy @Darey @bellanaija @AbangMercy @iamdbanj @itweetnaija @9ja_olofofo @DEMOLAEXPOZE @GbemiOO @seunfakze @reinaLydia @blcompere @funkeakindele @abinibi @uchejombo @MoAbudu @kemiadetiba @ayorotimi @MI_Abaga @ritaUdominic @FemiCool969 @obyezeks @seunosewa @OsaGz

Here is our pick of the best 50 Nigerians to follow on Twitter;

  1. Michael Collins @DONJAZZY
  2. Nasir El-Rufai @Elrufai
  3. Pat Utomi @UtomiPat
  4. Julius Agwu @JuliusAgwu1
  5. Ali Baba Akporobome @ALIBABAGCFR
  6. Ay Comedian @AYCOMEDIAN
  7. J.J Omojuwa @omojuwa
  8. Obi Asika @Obiasika
  9. Nedu @Nedunaija
  10. Tosin OloriSupergal @OloriSupergal
  11. Gidi Traffic @Gidi_Traffic
  12. Fly Naija @Fly_Naija
  13. Basketmouth @basket_mouth
  14. Peter Okoye @PeterPsquare
  15. Banky Wellington @BankyW
  16. Toyosi Akerele @toyosirise
  17. Tolu Ogunlesi @toluogunlesi
  18. Egghead Odewale @eggheader
  19. Seun Anikulapo Kuti @Realseunkuti
  20. Tiwa Savage @TiwaSavage
  21. Wande Coal @wandecoal
  22. Linda Ikeji @lindaikeji
  23. Kunle Afolayan @kunleafolayan
  24. Fela Durotoye @feladurotoye
  25. Ikhide @ikhide
  26. Teju Cole @tejucole
  27. Omotola Jolade @Realomosexy
  28. Dare Art Alade @darey
  29. Bella Naija @bellanaija
  30. Abang Mercy-Asu @AbangMercy
  31. Dbanj Kokmaster @iamdbanj
  32. ItweetNaija @Itweetnaija
  33. 9ja Olofofo @9ja_olofofo
  34. IG: Demola @DEMOLAEXPOZE
  35. Gebmi O.O @GbemiOO
  36. ‘Seun Fakuade @seunfakze
  37. Tolu Adeleru Balogun @reinaLydia
  38. Blossom @blcompere
  39. Olufunke Akindele @funkeakindele
  40. James Abinibi @abinibi
  41. Uche Jombo @uchejombo
  42. Mo Abudu @Moabudu
  43. Kemi Adetiba @kemiadetiba
  44. Ayo Rotimi @ayorotimi
  45. Jude Abaga @MI_Abaga
  46. Rita Dominic @ritaUdominic
  47. Femi Obong-Daniels @FemiCool969
  48. Oby Ezekwesili @obyezeks
  49. Seun Osewa @seunosewa
  50. Osagie Alonge @OsaGz

Here is a Public Twitter list of the best 50 Nigerians to follow on Twitter. 

Given that there are lots of Nigerians to follow on Twitter, we decided to focus our efforts on these 50 people. We gathered information from our followers, fans and of course, Travelstarters. We created our list based these criteria;

  • Social authority
  • Number of followers
  • Consistent engagement and interaction with followers
  • Witty and humorous twitter feeds

If you know someone who you think should be on the list and is not, we welcome your suggestion in the comment box below.


Want to share your travel stories, photos and experiences with the world? Send it to innocent[at]

Our Readers Comments

  1. It’s @osagz not @osag. I think.

  2. I dont totally agree with you.

    Where are
    -uncle saka
    -tattafo n so on
    plc check very well o

  3. Good initiative! But the criteria for selection is a little shallow…it trends heavily towards entertainment. What about critical considerations such as leadership (both spiritual and political), business prowess, creativity, technology, entreprise, etc. I see the list as a long roll-call of Naija entertainers: music and comedy majorly…just too inadequate. Less than five in the list pass for anyone I might consider following on twitter. In your list of 50, you can have sub-heads/categories and list ten best in each category..e.g. entertainment, business, politics, religion, social activism. Or simply edit your headline to read: The 50 Best Nigerian Entertainers to Follow on twitter. Nice try!

    • Well, the only people I know are not here are the spiritual leaders. At least the political ones were mentioned, creativity is there too, even technology. There are lots of these people in Nigeria, they can’t mention all of them na. Well, based on the criteria, this list is fine. Elrufai, Pat Utomi, Omojuwa, Toyosi Akerele, Fela Durotoye, Pa Ikhide, Seun Osewa, etc. These people are not entertainers!

    • Hi K J Williams,

      Thank you for the observation. We formulated our list with the help of our fans, Travelstarters and few online Twitter tools. We chose these people based on their active participation on Twitter, high engagement with followers, number of followers and of course social authority.

      We do know that there are many Nigerian Tweeters out there and we will be glad if you could mention them here in your comments so that people can know them. Thank you.

  4. What about Genevieve Nnaji, Patience Goodluck Jonathan, Babagida, Atiku and Pastor Chris Oyakilome! They have many followers on Twitter too.

  5. Ah-ah!! Where is Ebuka Akara and Tweet Oracle? You didn’t even include me (iTarkaa).. LOL!!

Have something to say...